Say Chess
The Say Chess Podcast
The Tactics Ladder — A Chess Tactics Book For Expert Players (2000 FIDE Level)
0:00
-9:39

The Tactics Ladder — A Chess Tactics Book For Expert Players (2000 FIDE Level)

Welcome to the 89 new subscribers who joined since the last newsletter.
The newsletter now goes out to 1,249 people!

If you haven't subscribed yet you can join for free. New subscribers get a 50-page pdf with the 14 annotated games from Capablanca’s classic book ‘Chess Fundamentals.


The Tactics Ladder — A Chess Tactics Book For Expert Players (2000 FIDE Level)

The cover for the next book in the series

It is time to give you an update on my very ambitious chess tactics book series. The Tactics Ladder. If you haven’t heard about the project check out this post:

The Say Chess Newsletter
The Tactics Ladder - A 16,000 Puzzle Project... (Free pdf-Preview) 📚
In a previous newsletter, I mentioned a new book project. Actually, I started on it last year, but now want to share the introduction from the first book in the series. You will also be able to download a free chapter from the first book at the bottom of the newsletter…
Read more

I successfully published the two blue books for the 1400 FIDE rating range in February. My original plan was to work my way through the 2000 puzzles in the blue series myself. However, they were a little too easy for me to be challenging. So when I made a poll to get an indication of what book I should do after the 1400-level and it turned out evenly, I decided to pick the 2000 FIDE rating.

That is the rating goal I want to attain, so why not make some training material to get me there.

I started working on the book in March. One problem occurred to me quickly. The number of puzzles drops when we go up to the 2400 puzzle rating on Lichess around 7400 puzzles had a user rating above 80, which I decided to be the minimum I would accept for the book.

Originally I had planned two books for each step in the series, one on openings and middlegame positions and one on endgames. The relatively low number of puzzles made me change my mind and I will now publish only one book for the expert level.

This also secures that the puzzle popularity rating will be higher compared to a two-book series.


Popularity rating = (upvotes - downvotes)/(upvotes + downvotes)

The average popularity rating for the book will be 91,8! The next decision was to select some relevant themes for the 10 chapters. Here is what I ended up with:

  • Opening tactics I

  • Opening tactics II

  • Crushing in the middlegame

  • Pawn endgames

  • Mate in X

  • Minor piece endgames

  • Advantage in the endgame

  • Sacrifice

  • Rook endgames

So a slight pull towards the endgame, but I also think that it is something most chess improvers, me included, forget to work on.

Two puzzles from the pawn endgame chapter. Links to the solutions are below.

Soon to be published!

The process of editing and aligning everything in Word has been a bit tedious and frustrating and has taken some time to overcome. Imagine creating a word document with 1000 pictures!

However, I think I have won the battle against Word and will be ready to publish very soon!

Free stuff to members?

Finally, I’m thinking about enabling the membership function here on Substack, which would make it possible to support the newsletter.

I still want to keep the newsletter free, but like many other content creators with Patreon or other similar solutions, I would be able to offer special perks to members. A perk could be the PDF of ‘The Tactics Ladder’ when it is released.

Leave a comment


Did you solve the two puzzles?


/Martin


Solutions

  1. Solution no. 1

  2. Solution no. 2

0 Comments
Say Chess
The Say Chess Podcast
The Say Chess Podcast will be delivering chess puzzles, miniature games, and moments from chess history.
It will go along with my newsletter on https://saychess.substack.com/ where I write about chess improvement, chess book publishing, and actually everything related to chess. So remember to sign up there.
The show is hosted by me – Martin Justesen. I’m a so-called adult chess improver from Denmark. I started on my chess journey around when I was 18. Lately, I also publish chess books on Amazon, when I’m not tweeting about chess or playing the game we love.
If you have ideas or suggestions for the show you can reach me at saychess1@gmail.com or at Twitter @saychess1
/ Martin