Say Chess
The Say Chess Podcast
#8 Interview With Ben Johnson About His Upcoming Book ‘Perpetual Chess Improvement'
6
0:00
-51:10

#8 Interview With Ben Johnson About His Upcoming Book ‘Perpetual Chess Improvement'

6

Spotify | Apple podcast

I have for many years been listing to the Perpetual Chess Podcast hosted by Ben Johnson. The podcast has been a weekly highlight and Ben has interviewed some of the world’s best players, coaches, and adult chess improvers. I have somehow also been lucky to sneak into two episodes.

When Ben revealed that he is working on a book with the purpose to distill the hundreds of hours of chess wisdom into a book I naturally wanted to know more.

I took the chance and asked if he would join me for an interview about his project, and he agreed.

The interview also features a couple of questions from the paid subscribers, who I asked before the interview if they had any questions for Ben. If you want to support my writing and podcast consider upgrading your subscription.


Finally, we also talk about tactics and the puzzle rush/storm challenge that some of you are participating in right now.

Enjoy the podcast!

/Martin



Links you might want to check out


Ben actually also has an excellent newsletter here on Substack where he shares the week’s most interesting chess articles. Often a lot of good stuff on chess improvement.

During the interview, we talk about Ben’s favorite chess books, and he mentions this collection on his webpage: https://www.perpetualchesspod.com/book-recommendations

If you want to listen to the two times I appeared on Ben’s podcast you can check them out here:

During the interview we also mention this inspiring interview:

Share

6 Comments
Say Chess
The Say Chess Podcast
The Say Chess Podcast will be delivering chess puzzles, miniature games, and moments from chess history.
It will go along with my newsletter on https://saychess.substack.com/ where I write about chess improvement, chess book publishing, and actually everything related to chess. So remember to sign up there.
The show is hosted by me – Martin Justesen. I’m a so-called adult chess improver from Denmark. I started on my chess journey around when I was 18. Lately, I also publish chess books on Amazon, when I’m not tweeting about chess or playing the game we love.
If you have ideas or suggestions for the show you can reach me at saychess1@gmail.com or at Twitter @saychess1
/ Martin