Say Chess
The Say Chess Podcast
#6 - Interview With Braden Laughlin About His Road to NM
0:00
-1:04:07

#6 - Interview With Braden Laughlin About His Road to NM

John Nunn's Puzzle Book and working on calculation.

Welcome to the 228 new subscribers who have joined recently. The newsletter now goes out to 2,494 chess fans.

Also a special thank you to the first who signed up as paid subscribers! Really appreciate it.

If you haven't already subscribed you can join for free. New subscribers get a 50-page pdf with the 14 annotated games from Capablanca’s classic book ‘Chess Fundamentals’.

Also, join the new Chess Substack Readers Club on Lichess. The first tournament is on Saturday (3 PM EST / 9 PM CET)!


The podcast includes an interview with Braden Laughlin, 23, from Canada. Braden is working really hard on his chess and aims at NM. As you can see from his rating gains he is taking steps in the right direction each month.

Billede
Billede
Braden has also joined The Say Chess Training Group and is tracking his training.

The interview focus on his most recent tournament and how it went, and the lessons learned.

Last year I also lost two 20+10 games against Braden, which we briefly talk about during the podcast (I need a rematch soon).

We also talk about John Nunn’s Puzzle Book. Braden is currently working on it. I have previously written an article based on the difficulty of the book (it is hard!), and if it is beneficial to solve really hard tactics vs. solving easier tactics.

Få John Nunn's Chess Puzzle Book af John Nunn som Paperback bog på engelsk
Say Chess
ARE CHESS TACTICS TOO HARD? 📈
In my last newsletter, I mentioned the article ‘The Eighty Five Percent Rule for optimal learning’. I think it’s a really interesting article in relation to chess training. Here is the abstract of the article: Researchers and educators have long wrestled with the question of how best to teach their clients be they humans, non-human animals or machines. H…
Read more

Braden also share his OTB games on his YouTube channel, which I can recommend following and subscribing to. Here is his first-ever OTB game:

I hope you will enjoy the episode, and if you have any questions for Braden please ask in the comment section:

Leave a comment

/Martin

0 Comments
Say Chess
The Say Chess Podcast
The Say Chess Podcast will be delivering chess puzzles, miniature games, and moments from chess history.
It will go along with my newsletter on https://saychess.substack.com/ where I write about chess improvement, chess book publishing, and actually everything related to chess. So remember to sign up there.
The show is hosted by me – Martin Justesen. I’m a so-called adult chess improver from Denmark. I started on my chess journey around when I was 18. Lately, I also publish chess books on Amazon, when I’m not tweeting about chess or playing the game we love.
If you have ideas or suggestions for the show you can reach me at saychess1@gmail.com or at Twitter @saychess1
/ Martin