10 Comments
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

I think the 'grey' chess-related activities should be allowed. If you are watching even a little twitch or playing a modicum of non-classical games, then tracking that time may be important. When you can see how much time you are spending watching Hikaru crush people, vs how much time you spend analyzing your own games, then you may see a place for improvement (if you are spending more time on twitch than on studying) or may find a reason to feel less guilty about the extra-curricular activities (if you are spending only 5% of available chess time on streamers) ... for example.

Expand full comment
author

True, that makes sense. The result from the poll also indicate that it should be possible just to track those activities, so I will let it be :)

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Another suggestion of a category (btw, I agree with what you wrote "I think that people should just get used to the system before I implement changes"), so, this is just food for thought.

I had a one-hour private lesson earlier today, and have a one-hour group lesson later today. So, does instruction like this warrant a category, or just lump it into "chess training"? (I mean, clearly it _is_ chess training: but personal instruction from an IM is a whole different thing, by magnitudes, than, say, watching a GothamChess video on the latest round of the US Championships).

Expand full comment
author

Definitely! there is different grades of quality in different activities. I will try to draft some extra categories.

Expand full comment

Awesome. This, then, of course, leads to the next question: can somebody change an entry after the fact? (I just signed up for an invite, so I haven't actually seen it yet)

Expand full comment
author

Yes, you can edit entries.. you can also enter them afterwards using the calendar function

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

The project part is helpful. Without it, I don't think one would have a clear view of where they're spending their time (and then, where they might need to spend more).

I think there might be value in tracking (though not rewarding?) shorter time controls, so one can see how much time they spend there.

The categories might need to be less specific. For example, there was chess.com tactics and lichess tactics, but last night i was doing Aimchess tactics. Maybe just a "tactics", "openings", "endgames", etc. category system?

Expand full comment
author

Yes! I have been thinking about splitting the training project into subgroups. But I think that people should just get used to the system before I implement changes

Expand full comment

What is the correct way to record OTB game time with clockify? I am not beside a computer while I am playing OTB.

Expand full comment
author

You enter it afterwards by using the calendar menu :)

Expand full comment