11 Comments
Mar 15, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

1) What went well?

I clocked 1.02 hrs last week.

Started well on Tuesday with good quality rapid game finally.

Went off mid week, only to finish on Sunday with Tactics Ladder to make atleast 1 hour.

2) What did not go well?

Able to play Rapid game 10+5 [after Bullet and Blitz - time not counted].

Played Rapid with Blitz style - not utilizing the time at all - blunder at the end - otherwise well played game.

Due to Blitz effect and not-practicing rapid game effect, moves were pretty reflexive. Before mind thinks, hand / mouse played the move that looked best.

In Blitz, played Opening that was supposed to be studied and understood but missed best continuation. It looks like it's very hard to master Openings when there's not much play at all.

3) What will I do this week

Continue Tactics Ladder.

Review Rapid / Blitz games - Opening / other areas [thinking system].

Play atleast 1 Rapid 10+5 and Review.

Read / Learn how to do Game Review effectively.

Expand full comment

1) What went well?

I again managed to spend over 12 hours on serious chess improvement. I did 12 Checkmate Mastery puzzles a day, and I am now at puzzle 427. Thanks to this training, I won a lost rapid game today (where my opponent missed a mate in 2 which I saw in seconds).

2) What did not go well?

I did not continue Move First, Think Later.

3) What will I do this week?

Continue as last week, maybe continue to read MFTL, but tactics, calculation and playing have priority. I also will play in the lichess 4545 league as an alternate.

Expand full comment
Mar 13, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

1) What went well?

I got to study a lot of Capablanca's Best Chess Endings, which is always nice. I went 3/3 at my local club in a single-day rapid swiss tournament. I played a chunk of rapid games this week and they were instructive, though I did drop from my peak rating to a bit lower. Tbh, I don't care that much since my rapid rating on lichess doesn't have any meaning towards a national master title. It's nice to be free from that kind of stress when training.

I also studied a lot of Spanish and French lines since I was overdue to learn how to play against the lines I was finding myself in.

2) What did not go well?

I didn't play as much rapid online as I would have liked, mostly due to not getting enough sleep. I'll be working on that this week!

3) What will I do this week

There's a new three-week quad tournament with 60+15 games I will be entering. I'll keep studying the French (I hope to finish crunching all the lines in Giri's course by the end of the week but it depends on how overwhelming the reviews get on chessable). I'll also keep going through Capa's best chess endings. I think there's a good chance I'll be able to finish it this week. Then the next thing might be finishing Colovic's course on Capa.

Expand full comment

What went well?

Yesterday I had the house to myself and I managed to get halfway through Evaluate Like a Grandmaster. I reached my goals of positions looked at in Polgar's last week too.

Our local club had a rapid quad go last week 24 minute time control and I scored 2 of 3. I lost only to someone 300 pts higher rated and I got the type of position that I wanted out of the opening. I also had a solid performance in my online rapid games.

What did not go well?

My online classical games were a bust last week. I'm finding that in a surprising number of games last week that I'm pulling victory from terrible positions. It's the type of thing that as I face sterner competition that I won't be able to recover from. I had one game last week where my opponent didn't realize that down a whole queen I was trying to sac a bishop for a mate in 1. It worked and it shouldn't have.

Swindles have been the name of the game for me. I'd like to applaud myself for my creativity but this has been a theme in a games for my chess career. I'm a tenacious defender and many of my wins come from impatient people trying to finish me off rather than win a longer game. I put this down to not having a solid opening repertoire, however that's not on my list to work on until the latter half of this year.

What I will do this week:

This week I'm hoping to get in 50 more puzzles and 20 more evaluations. I'm feeling a bit of ladder anxiety right now. (Where you don't want to play rated games for fear of losing) It's sort of a side effect of serious study. I feel fear that I worked hard for nothing. I had some of that before last week's club games and did fine but I haven't felt this in a while and I'm not sure where it's stemming from. I'll play a few games and get over it but it's strange that I'm feeling less confident in my play after working on it in a systematic way.

Expand full comment