11 Comments
Aug 21, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Good luck on the 4 week plan.. My main plan is to study 20 mins uninterrupted a day on tactics, play 5 15+10 “blunder games” for my chess dojo training program work this week as my time is going to be limited.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like a good plan! What is “blunder games”?

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Lower rated bands in the program play that time control games focusing mainly on avoiding builders, hanging pieces, capturing opponents pieces etc.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like a good idea! Keep it simple 😎

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2023·edited Aug 23, 2023

I don't tend to record how long I do calculation my training for, but perhaps I will start doing so. I'm interested in what resources people are using for calculation training. I'm currently using Edouard's "Chess Calculation Training, Volume 1: Middlegames" and Lakdawala's "Rewire Your Chess Brain".

Expand full comment

I'm experimenting with which puzzle resource to use, and I haven't yet started the journaling, which I believe is also one of the points to the challenge. I have a digital copy of Martin's Tactics Ladder Red Book and I also have a hard copy of The Complete Chess Workout. I experimented with loading the Tactics Ladder pdf into the ChessVision.ai ebook reader but the ebook reader wasn't able to read the images in the pdf file very well, so that's kind of frustrating. I also wrestle with setting up the chess board vs just looking at an image. Setting up the board isn't really satisfying time-wise, but I do like the aesthetics of a board vs a book. I think I'm actually writing this response partly because I am not journaling about my experience with the challenge - note to self.

Expand full comment

What are some of best YouTube channels to learn about chess?

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

There are many good ones. It depends on your level. My current favourites are GMTalks (GM Sune Berg Hansen) and Daniel Naroditsky although they are quite advanced. A bit easier but also consistently excellent instructional content is ChessCoach Andras (IM Andras Toth). Some other channels that often have interesting stuff are GMNeiksans, Silicon Road (GM Matthew Saddler), ChessDojo, GMHikaru, GothamChess, Molton.

Expand full comment

Ok thanks, appreciate it!

Expand full comment
author

I can back up these recommendations. Also this one is gold https://youtu.be/Ao9iOeK_jvU?si=eHfpud6R__jt-zsQ

Expand full comment

Thanks! I’ll check it out

Expand full comment