7 Comments
Aug 19, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

♥️♥️♥️ Yessir! Congrats.

Adult chess is a marathon and not a sprint so forget about that. Congrats again on the new kid. That is the best. Woop

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! And you are right, sometimes I can get afraid that I sometimes will forget everything I have learned and need to start over 😄

Expand full comment
Aug 19, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Sometimes it is good to take the focus off chess or any other activity. I would say that solving puzzles and studies would be beneficial to staying in shape.

Expand full comment
author

I think that is a healthy perspective! Definitely want to stay in shape

Expand full comment
Aug 19, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Hi Martin:

First of all, congratulations!

I remember when my daughter was born, and long games were off of the table for me (even rapid games seemed a bit long). I did keep up with a tactics trainer online, just to make sure I kept up some form of training, and I reviewed my openings on chessable and my lichess study.

If feeling super motivated, even reviewing some of your prior games is possible.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you :) I probably just have to adjust my mindset and expectations slightly

Expand full comment
deletedAug 19, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Thank you! Maybe I should reread one of his books ;)

Expand full comment